Milestones…

Feeling good!

Feeling good!



Hey y’all!! I hope everybody’s Blessed 🙂

So this last two weeks has been an emotional rollercoaster for real!

It’s become obvious to me that these entries are becoming further & further apart. My apologies. I am equally enthusiastic about my blog as I always have been…I’m still searching for that balance…sometimes it affects my performance but my ability & dream remain the same.
Nevertheless, I hope you enjoy today’s read…

What started out as the LDN riots & has since become the UK riots, leaves me speechless. My thoughts & prayers go out to the familes of those who have lost relatives & to those that have been rendered homeless as a result of the riots. I don’t know what to expect when I reach later on this week.

Focusing on the outcome.

#ashiftinenergy

MOVEMENTS

Pre soundcheck posing!

Pre soundcheck posing!



During this last fortnight my brain has been on overtime.
I’ve been forced to cool out, listen & take heed in the opportunities that continue to present themselves.

On the music front, I’m still pushing 🙂

My weekend in pictures…

WEDNESDAY – Band Rehearsal

Front

Front

Back

Back



I arrived at rehearsal on Wednesday morning, to be greeted with this surprise!!

THURSDAY – Gula (Almerimar)

Gula publicity

Gula publicity



I can’t front, I was looking forward to this one! Great vibes everytime we go!

Dad rockin!

Dad rockin!



Mid flow in his groove!

Paco & his beautiful wife!

Paco & his beautiful wife!



When I see the venue owners happy, I know I’ve done my job well 🙂

FRIDAY – El Palmer (Aguadulce)

El Palmer publicity

El Palmer publicity



There’s always dancing at El Palmer! These ladies know how to party & the service is slick!

The venue

The venue



Perfect chilled out Friday location, whilst the DJ played everything from sultry Neo Soul & Hip Hop cuts to Woodstock reminiscent rock & 60’s Funk cuts. Bliss 😉

SATURDAY – Wedding at the Golf Club (Roquetas De Mar)

Preparation...

Preparation...



QueenBritLIVE crew doing their thing in prep for the performance…

The outside venue

The outside venue



Weather just right for the Bride & Groom 🙂

I love weddings!

I love weddings!



Simply that!

Cocktail hour setting

Cocktail hour setting



Tones to be floating through the air as the guests arrive…

Our set up, inside

Our set up, inside



Our larger of the two systems…

Golf Club inside bar

Golf Club inside bar



I was in awe of the layout…

Everyone chillaxin!

Everyone chillaxin!



While dad serenaded the guests with his Jazz & Soul session 🙂

Magic before dinner!

Magic before dinner!



“Dinner is now served!…”

The beautiful bride!

The beautiful bride!



A wonderful day!!

SUNDAY – La Mar Salade (Mojacar)

Heading to the show!...

Heading to the show!...



The HEAT…woooiii!!

Daddy reppin!

Daddy reppin!



An honour! 🙂

SUNDAY – Business lunch (Almerimar)

Business & pleasure!

Business & pleasure!



I love the fact that my family could attend this business meeting! Spanish runnings!! 🙂

You already know!

You already know!



Fish platter all day, you already know!

Happiniess!

Happiness!



All I ever wanna see 🙂

A really positive & motivating weekend…roll on the next one!

Looking forward for my album to drop 😉 Finishing touches…

#givingthanks

THROWBACK OF THE DAY

‘Make It Happen’ – Mariah Carey



Preach Mariah…true words.

#lyrics




‘5mins 2 Shine’

Today’s feature is: Configa

Calm Before The Storm - OUT NOW!!

Calm Before The Storm - OUT NOW!!



1) What do you do & how well do you do it?

Hey there Carls and cheers for giving me the opportunity to shine hun!
Well, I’m a hip hop producer, and I like to think that I serve up what is now known as “real hip hop”, you know, music that is organic as opposed to synthetic, has soul, and remains true to the essence that was set down by the legends of the Golden Era. You won’t find me doing a dubstep track, just because it’s the latest hot thing (if this applies to you then I hope your bandwagon falls off a damn cliff haha), or you know, just generic crunk crap that comes out of the States, that sounds like it’s from the dirty South even though it may be straight out of NYC. It’s just lame, and totally without depth or feeling, that whole plinky plonky electronic vibe. People are losing their identity left, right and centre. And for all those commiting audio blasphemy, don’t dare use “Planet Rock” and Afrika Bambaataa as a valid excuse/influence for over doing it with the synths, as I could trump that and then say – ok then, let’s all steal rhymes from Grandmaster Caz and rap over the “Good Times” riff played by an actual band, like The Sugarhill Gang did hahaha.

How well do I do it? Well judging from how many people want me to produce for them – and not for free either lol, the fact I’ve been playlisted a few times on national radio even doing the style of music that I do (it doesn’t really fit in with the “suits” who run these stations), and just generally having masses of positivity from real heads prepared to buy my music/play my music on radio/collab with me/write about me/interview me on their sites/blogs etc. then I would say that I’m doing ok haha. Oh yeah, and me and my old crew, Slept On Fam, won “Best Band” at some glitzy event down in Florida a few years ago hosted by the future Hall of Fame boxer Roy Jones Jr., beating the  Academy Award winning group Three 6 Mafia into the bargain. So that wasn’t bad either lol.

2) Where do you foresee yourself 12 months from today?

To have won the lottery and to have sailed off into the distance, telling the UK’s economy to kiss my ass on my way out lol. Failing that, just to keep on doing what I’m doing, and have been doing (as an MC originally) since 2000. I hope that mindsets have changed though, and that people have started to judge music more on HOW it sounds rather than WHOSE name is on it. Too many people are caught up solely on name recognition and not actual talent/or quality of music. This mixtape I’m putting out today is 20 tracks ALL with unsigned acts ranging in levels of how known they are – a combination of dope friends – and people that I’ve been feelin’ for a while really. I want everybody on this mixtape to be recognised for the exceptional talents that they are. And you know me Carls, I like to think of myself as a hip hop preservationist so you know that I standardly come with the boom bap heat! But yeah, in 12 months, I just want to be happy, to be keeping on doing my thing and most of all still getting appreciated for doing it! If I was still a young kid I’d be saying that I’d want to make it big, I mean I WAS signed years ago to a LA based independent and thought I was on my way – but then your insight and boundaries totally shift as you get older and more realistic. Making it big happens to probably 0.001% of everybody haha. I’m just happy being happy!! My music is niche, I accept that, and I’m totally cool with it. I mean, I would rather sell waaaaay less copies and still maintain my artistic integrity, as I am, and have always done. It’s crazy as people routinely tell me that they don’t hear bumpin’ bass, catchy flipped samples and snappy snares on shit anymore, and that they only really get it from me and a select few others and nowhere else, and they have a point. I got that head nod shit baby lol! And there’s a market for that, and that’s my home turf right there.

3) What was one of the most memorable times in your life?

Haha, do I keep it music related? Humour related? Or to go off on some other different tangent entirely! Lol. But no, as this is a family “publication” I’ll keep it legit! 😉 I would have to say being awarded my Doctorate. Being called a Dr. just feels weird, to this very day, – and when I had to recently renew my passport and wasn’t a “Mr.” anymore it was just mad! And my love for hip hop didn’t even escape that; my thesis was on hip hop’s cultural influence in diverse areas of the world. Much more complicated than it sounds, so I won’t get too sociological on ya ass lol.

4) Given the resources, what one change would you make in the world & why?

Left-field question right there C lol. I would love to change 2 if I may, simply because both are as disgusting/terrible as each other. The first one would be world poverty (and no I’m not auditioning for Miss World LMAO!!), you know we moan on about spending cuts in the UK, and the same in the US, but IMAGINE having NO clean water to drink? Having NOTHING to feed your children?, and if you do scrape together something, then there’s NOTHING for you. We don’t know shit about REAL poverty. If all the global leaders all set aside a few billion a year it would eradicate it, but they don’t, and never will. They’d rather go and build some monstrosity of a building instead. The second would just be completely deleting general bigotry of all kinds, and social injustices. You know, kids aren’t born bigots – it’s a cycle of brainwashing from their parents who were in turn brainwashed by their parents. I would LOVE to break that cycle. Both colour and religion based bigotry would be high on the agenda. This news clip has always stuck in my head for whatever reason, it was from Northern Ireland and there was a group of Catholic parents and children lined up outside a Protestant school and they were throwing bricks and snarling, and you could SEE the Catholic kids just absorbing all of it – and the Protestant kids and parents being deeply scared and traumatised. And obviously it happens vice versa. All of this really is the blind leading the blind.

5) What do you think of my daily blog? (Message for my readers)

I love it! I actually read your blog before we ever spoke! One of its most redeeming features is the genuine love that you have for your family, it’s really heart-warming, plus you write with great wit, compassion and honesty. I say keep up the great work girl!

Thanks once again for the interview Carls, and I wish you nothing but success in your own career! You deserve it with all of the grind you put in!

Configa’s song selection of the day is: ‘Crooked Nigga Too’ – 2Pac (Configa Remix – Pac To The Essence Album)


You can reach out to Configa @:

Website
Facebook
Twitter 
Myspace 

You can buy Configa’s ‘Calm Before The Storm’ >>> HERE <<< Go get it y’all!! Just bought mine this morning 🙂 The release date was yesterday: Monday 8th August…be amongst the first to dowload it y’all! It’s FIYAH!

Configa

Configa



#Support

C, I am so chuffed to have had the opportunity to interview you…thanks for taking the time out! That was jam packed with info & nuff juice…thank you very much hun!!
You already know how much I respect what you do (sarcastic bits & all!!) & it’s an honour to have been considered vocally by yourself for future projects…you already know I’m down! 😉
I hope this album is a great success for you, you’ve got my full support!
Congratulations once again on receiving your Doctorate…BIG!!

Much love, C x

SO THAT’S ALL FOR NOW Y’ALL…A LIL CATCH UP THAT I HOPE YOU’VE ENJOYED. I’LL BE MAKING LOTS OF IMPROVEMENTS TO THE BLOG (AS I MENTIONED IN THE LAST ENTRY) OVER THE NEXT COUPLE OF WEEKS, SO DON’T FORGET TO CHECK IN FREQUENTLY 😉
ALSO THANK YOU TO THOSE OF YOU THAT HAVE LEFT COMMENTS, THOUGHTS & WORDS OF ENCOURAGEMENT…IT’S ALL GREATLY APPRECIATED!

OFF TO LDN ON SATURDAY…AS EXCITED AS I AM, I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT TO EXPECT, COS RIGHT NOW, IT’S LOOKING & SOUNDING LIKE A NIGHTMARE. STILL, NIGHTMARES ARE DREAMS TOO…

STAY BLESSED, UNTIL AGAIN…

C x

Getting there...

Getting there...

 

2 comments on “Milestones…

  1. great read carlene so your on the way to london thayve tidy up for you now have a wonder full time hun blessings to you an family still havent got a bloody pair of glasses lol

Leave a Reply

